Scarlet #4 - Alex Maleev, Brian Michael Bendis

Scarlet #4 Review

Scarlet #4 - Alex Maleev, Brian Michael Bendis
Scarlet #4 (Click to enlarge)

Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev deliver another stunning issue of Scarlet. The writing is superb, the art is unbelievable, and what really makes this comic so interesting to read, is its level of realism. From the premise, to the character’s motivations, through to the detailed illustration style, the whole comic feels more like a gritty documentary in the vein of Restrepo or The War Tapes than a fictional bi-monthly book.

Scarlet depicts the next-American revolution… the one that seems like it could happen any day now. The story is told, largely, through the eyes and narrative voice of Scarlet, the young woman at the heart of this new revolution. This in turn, helps connect the reader on a more personal, emotional level to what could be “another dystopian tale of uprising”. And what makes this story so very unnerving, is after the events of the G20 in Toronto last summer, the social unrest that this plot taps into, does not seem so far-removed, or fictional.

Fans of Bendis and Maleev, who have collaborated on both Daredevil and Spider-Woman, know what to expect when it comes to the quality of the dialogue and panel work. This comic is a visual treat, and the characters within talk like normal people – not testosterone-filled super-men. My only complaint is that this is a bi-monthly book, when comic stands could use a lot more dynamic, engaging material like Scarlet on them every week. Definitely worth picking up!

Read Sarrah’s review of Scarlet #1 here.

Paradise Comics


FROM AROUND THE WEB
Comment on this post below! Share it:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • email
  • Print

Comments